Home Charter/Bylaws Officers Tournament Join Us



Have a question?
Contact Us



History of the National 600 Bowling Club

In the Beginning...

It was at the 1947 WIBC Convention held in Grand Rapids, Michigan, that the concept of a National 600 Club was first presented to the delegates by Lotta Sprowls of Erie, Pennsylvania. The concept was approved by the delegation and WIBC President Jeannette Knepprath appointed Lotta Sprowls to head the committee to organize a National 600 Club. In 1948, the National 600 Bowling Club was formed with 66 Charter Members representing twelve states (California, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin).

The first elected officers were:

  • President - Lotta Sprowls of Erie, PA
  • Vice President - Swampy Hastings of Dallas, TX
  • Secretary - Grayce Hatch, Cleveland, OH
  • Treasurer - Mazie Erickson, Westville, NJ
  • Sgt-at-Arms - Jo Etten, Los Angeles, CA

Early meetings of the Club were held in small rooms with little time given for conducting business. As the Club has grown over the years, so has the need for more time and space. The National 600 Bowling Club holds its annual meeting during WIBC Convention week. A banquet is held prior to the Club's annual meeting, and entertainment is provided by the local hosting 600 Club.

In 1953, the records showed 7,269 members. The Club's current membership is nearing 400,000.


Home | Bylaws | Officers | Tournament | Honor Roll | Membership